Tom Ford has been elected Chairman of the CFDA

Tom Ford has been elected Chairman of the CFDA

Tom Ford has been elected Chairman of the CFDA. Tom Ford has been named chairman of the Council of Fashion Designers of America.

Ford will succeed Diane von Furstenberg, who was named president of the CFDA in 2006, becoming chairwoman in 2015.

In a statement, Ford said: “I have had the privilege of being a member of the American Fashion community for many years and have experienced what the CFDA does for its members and the industry as a whole.

“Having lived and worked in each of the global fashion capitals of the world, I look forward to working with the Board of Directors to further the voice of American Fashion and its designers.

“As the Chairman, I look forward to continuing the incredible work Diane has done over the last 13 years. Diane is a true force and her contribution to the CFDA and to American fashion immeasurable. We all owe her a great deal.”

Ford’s start date was originally meant to be January 2020, but that date has been moved up to June 2019.

He is the 11th person to hold the position, with previous holders including Perry Ellis, Oscar de la Renta, Bill Blass, Norman Norell, Stan Herman, Mary McFadden, Carolyne Roehm, Herbert Kasper and Sydney Wragge.

Executive VP of the CFDA, Lisa Smilor, wrote: “Tom Ford’s vast experience and knowledge will be of great value to the CFDA and the membership in support of our mission to bring greater visibility and opportunity to American designers globally.”

Tom Ford has been elected Chairman of the CFDA

Please follow and like us:


Sign up for the latest in fashion news, tips and reviews in Ireland 2022.

Sign up for our NEWSLETTER.

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)